Diamond sponsors

• The Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers' Associations of JAPAN

Platinum sponsors

• Commemorative Organization for the Japan World Exposition '70

Gold sponsors

• HPC Systems Inc.
• Fujitsu Ltd.
• The Uehara Memorial Foundation
• Epson International Scholarship Foundation

Bronze sponsors

• American Chemical Society
• CONFLEX Corporation
• Terumo Life Science Foundation
• Waseda University


• HPC Technologies Co., Ltd.
• Hitachi, Ltd.
• Dell Japan Inc.
• Taylor & Francis

Contact info.:

History of ISTCP

The International Society for Theoretical Chemical Physics (ISTCP) was founded in 1991 by Prof. János Ladik, at the University of Erlangen, Germany, together with other prominent scientists. Its aim is to promote all theoretical developments on problems at the frontier between physics and chemistry. This involves the investigation of atomic and molecular assemblies in dilute and condensed media, particularly when submitted to electric and magnetic fields, as well as in novel materials and biological systems.

The Society involves a Board of Directors gathering fifty of the finest scientists in the fields of Theoretical Chemistry and Physics, and a Board of national representatives for about thirty countries. It also has local sections with their own Board. The current President (as of September 2011) is Prof. Erkki J. Brändas, from Uppsala University, Sweden, an Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Quantum Chemistry. The president for France, where the Fourth Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-IV) took place, was Prof. Roland Lefebvre, from Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris.

Since its foundation, ISTCP has organized seven international Congresses:

  • The First Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-I) was organized by Prof. Ramon Carbó-Dorca at the Institute of Computational Chemistry in Girona, Spain, from June 28 to July 03, 1993.
  • The Second Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-II) was organized by Prof. Sean P. McGlynn of Louisiana State University at New Orleans, LA, USA, from April 09 to 13, 1996.
  • The Third Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-III) was organized by Prof. Miguel Castro at Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico City, from November 08 to 13, 1999.
  • The Fourth Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-IV) was organized by Prof. Jean Maruani at Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France, from July 09 to 16, 2002.
  • The Fifth Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-V) was organized by Prof. Peter Politzer at the University of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA, USA, from July 20 to 26, 2005.
  • The Sixth Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-VI) was organized by Prof. Yan Alexander Wang at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada, from July 19 to 24, 2008.
  • The Seventh Congress of ISTCP (ISTCP-VII) was organized by Prof. Hiromi Nakai at Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, from September 02 to 08, 2011.

Prof. János Ladik, founder of ISTCP, was a co-organizer of the first three ISTCP Congresses.

These Congresses gathered from 120 to 400 participants. Proceedings were published as special issues of the International Journal of Quantum Chemistry (IJQC), Wiley, USA:

The proceedings of ISTCP-VII (Tokyo, Japan, September 2011) will be published in IJQC.

Advanced reviews and general chemical physics papers were collected in Progress in Theoretical Chemistry and Physics (PTCP), a book series published by Springer, Germany, from the presentations of ISTCP-IV (Marly-le-Roi, France, July 2002).

There has also been local meetings organized by national sections of ISTCP, particularly a symposium organized by the French section at Toulouse, France, in May 1997. This section has also financed the participation of young scientists at both international Congresses of New Orleans and Mexico City.

The Eighth Congress of ISTCP will be organized by Prof. Péter Surján at Eötvös University Budapest, Hungary.